Last updated on 13 July 2021
How CBD became legal in Alabama
Before the 2018 Farm Bill, the state of Alabama did actually have a so-called medical CBD program. Back in 2014, the Alabama state allowed individuals to receive a prescription for possession or use of CBD through the University of Alabama-Birmingham. However it was very limited, because this law, known as Carly’s Law, only allowed the prescription for people to treat a debilitating epileptic condition. This qualifying condition made the possession of CBD very limited.
Later on in 2016, on May 4 th Republican Gov. Robert Bentley signed HB 61, known as Leni’s Law. Named for Leni Young of Alabama who successfully treated her seizures with CBD, this act made access to CBD easier by “expanding” the list of qualifying conditions. However the “expanding” was not the right word, since all the conditions on the list only included specified debilitating conditions that produce seizures. Hence, access to CBD was still highly restricted.
Finally, the 2018 Farm Bill, confirmed the legality of CBD products that are sold by a licensed vendor and contain no more than 0.3% THC by weight.
Where to buy CBD Oil in Alabama?
CBD consumers in Alabama can buy cannabidiol both in-person and online. It is mostly sold in CBD-specific shops, such as wellness and health food stores. Nonetheless, pharmacies in Alabama can also sell CBD products over the counter, as long as they meet the legal requirement no more than 0.3% THC.
When buying CBD online, be careful who you buy from. Stay away from CBD brands who make too many health claims or have suspiciously low prices.
Related content: Best CBD brands of 2020
Is cannabis legal in Alabama?
CBD shouldn’t be confused with cannabis. Cannabis with a higher amount than 0.3% is not legal in Alabama.
CBD cannot be prescribed by a doctor in Alabama. Nonetheless, physicians and doctors can recommend the use of CBD which is accessible all over the state either in pharmacies or online.
On that note, Alabama also does not offer a medical marijuana program.
Cultivation is illegal in Alabama. An individual cultivating a marijuana plant at home for personal use can be charged with trafficking cannabis, which is considered a felony. Possessing any amount of processed cannabis is considered a misdemeanor with up to one (1) year in prison or a $6,000 fine. Those suspected of possessing marijuana for any purpose other than personal use may face a felony with up to 10 years in prison or a $15,000 maximum fine. Decriminalization was set to be taken up in the Senate before the coronavirus shut-down in 2020.
The current law in Alabama is compliant with the 2018 Farm Bill which means that CBD products can be sold over the counter in pharmacies, health shops and online. When back in the day it was required to have a prescription to treat a medical condition, CBD is now accessible widely.