✓ Evidence Based
Last updated on 13 July 2021
In the state of New Jersey hemp-derived CBD products are legal. Even CBD derived from marijuana plants is legal for patients qualified in the state’s medical marijuana plan.
How did CBD become legal?
Hemp- derived CBD was legalized in New Jersey in August 2019. Many states moved to legalize hemp production after the 2018 Farm bill. However, New Jersey was one of the states that started doing so after the 2014 Farm bill recognized the difference between industrial hemp, from which CBD is derived and marijuana. In 2018 the state adapted to the same standard as the federal government, demanding industrial hemp to contain 0.3% or less THC by weight. New Jersey completely legalized all forms of hemp and products derived from it, as long as it contained 0.3 % or less THC. Also the growers and processors must be licensed and anyone who grows hemp without authorization will be subject to the same penalties as those who get caught growing marijuana. There are no possession limits in New Jersey when it comes to hemp-derived CBD.
Is Cannabis legal in New Jersey?
The use of cannabis for medical purposes is legal in New Jersey. Unfortunately, recreational use is not legal in the state. Although medical marijuana was legalized in 2010, the medical marijuana program is one of the strictest in the country. The strict rules surrounding the medical marijuana program means it only serves 6,400 patients about 0.09% of the population. Also it includes that patient eligibility needs to be reassessed every 90 days and doctors need to register and take a course in order to be allowed to recommend medical marijuana. Besides the strict rules New Jersey has one of the most expensive medical marijuana in the country. The price of marijuana will vary based on strain and quality.
|How old do I need to be to consume?||Possession limits for flower||Possession limits for concentrates|
|N/A Recreational |
|N/A Recreational 2oz Medical||N/A Recreational 2oz Medical|
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig’s disease
- Cachexia, or wasting syndrome
- Chronic pain related to musculoskeletal disorders
- Chronic pain in the Internal organs, abdomen, or intestines
- Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease
- Muscular dystrophy
- Multiple sclerosis
- Nausea and vomiting
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Terminal cancer or illness, if the physician determines the patient has less than 12 months to live
- Opioid addiction
- Patients will also qualify if they are resistant to conventional therapy for:
- Intractable skeletal muscular spasticity
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Seizure disorder, including epilepsy
Are there any penalties for using Cannabis in New Jersey?
Possession of 50 grams or less of marijuana for non- medical patients is punishable by up to 6 months in prison and/or $1000 maximum fine. More than 50 grams is a crime punishable by up to 1,5 years and/or $25,000 fine.
Just like Connecticut and New York in the Tri-state area, hemp-derived CBD is legal in New Jersey. There is a medical marijuana program, however it is very hard to become a patient and it is very expensive. Recreational use of cannabis is illegal in New Jersey.
With close to two decades of successful stint in the Media industry, I felt I was surely missing a piece in my life puzzle. I took a break and set out to seek the purpose of my life. I travelled, lived out of a suitcase, let things flow into life without resisting, and after five challenging years, I found my rhythm. I love to write about Cannabis and Health and try my best to simplify esoteric concepts into simple ideas for life.