Last updated on 13 July 2021
All hemp-derived CBD products with less than 0.3% THC are permitted, as long as they are not prohibited by the Food and Drug Administration.
How did CBD become legal?
In North Carolina, CBD, which is produced from industrial hemp is legal to buy and possess, since 2014. The same year, House Bill 220 was signed into law allowing patients with epilepsy who are registered in the state’s medical CBD program to use CBD with less than 0.9% THC and at least 5% CBD by weight. Unfortunately doctors are not permitted to prescribe CBD oil. However they are permitted to prescribe an FDA-approved pharmaceutical drug called Epidiolex, which is essentially purified CBD, for children who suffer with epilepsy. Doctors are allowed to recommend hemp CBD oil to their patients, if they believe it will help with their symptoms.
Is Cannabis legal in North Carolina?
Medical use of cannabis is legal in North Carolina. To apply for a medical card for CBD in North Carolina, you must suffer from intractable epilepsy. There is no possession limit for medical patients with epilepsy that acquired a Medical Care Card Cannabis, for recreational use is not legal in North Carolina.
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Nail-Patella Syndrome
- Severe migraines
- Celiac Disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Diabetes Mellitus
- Spinal cord injuries
- Gastrointestinal disorders
- Sleep Apnea
- Crohn’s Disease
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Staphylococcus Aureus
- Tourette’s Syndrome
Are there any penalties for Cannabis in North Carolina?
Possession of 0.5 ounces or less of cannabis is punishable by a maximum fine of $200. Possession of 0.5 to 1.5 ounces is punishable by up to 45 days in Jail and a fine of up to $1000. If you already have a criminal record, you could also be punished by spending 3 to 8 months in jail.
CBD is legal in North Carolina. Patients in the medical marijuana program are allowed to consume CBD oil with 9% THC which is similar to the regulations in Ohio. Recreational use of cannabis is illegal.